A Sabbath-observing Jew to handle the process. Often, the supervisor turns out to be the winemaker. Not exactly “hands-on” but today’s orthodoxy has produced wine-savvy individuals working harmoniously with the winemaker and his needs.
Each and every ingredient added, whether in filtration or clarification along the vinification process must be kosher.
All tools and equipment must be dedicated to kosher winemaking alone.
About Mevushal wines
There are two types of kosher wine–non-mevushal, your basic kosher wine, and mevushal, fit for the most orthodox wine lover. Non-mevushal wines must be produced, handled and even served by Sabbath Observant Jews in order to be kosher. Mevushal wines go through an additional step, flash pasteurization, in which the wines are subjected to heat during the winemaking process but are not boiled, contrary to popular belief. This process originated from ancient times when wine was once used by pagans for idolatrous worship. By pasteurizing the wines, they were considered unfit for pagan worship and should satisfy the most orthodox Jew. As a result, mevushal wines may be handled by non-Jews and remain kosher.
One of the main structural components of wine, acidity adds a refreshing quality and helps to preserve character. Present to some degree in all grapes in the form of tartaric, citric, malic or lactic acid.
The sensation a wine leaves in the mouth after swallowing (same as finish).
A compound in wine that results from the interaction between yeast and the natural sugar in grapes during fermentation. The percentage of alcohol by volume in a table wine typically ranges from 7-14%.